Vegan Soy Chorizo with Kale; Vegan No-Bakes; and iced drinks at the end of a busy week

Today’s run: 3 miles

Yesterday’s run: 3 miles

Seems I am in a 3-mile weekday run rut. Oh well. I will make up for it on the weekends.

Wow, I am really behind on posts. It’s just been that kind of week.  I ended up working more than usual, and cooking less. The girls were well-fed, but I had more than one meal from the freezer or a can. Oh well – that happens, right?

This week has been busy and stressful for my husband too, so we really just needed some relaxation. My husband had decided long ago that cookies did not fit into the definition of ‘dessert’ for purposes of our Lenten no-dessert sacrifice. As a lawyer  who likes specific categories and rules, I had a hard time accepting this definition, but as I really wanted something sweet tonight, I decided to go along with his categorization. He made some vegan no-bakes – they are SUPER easy and super sweet, when you need a little somethin’ sweet. Recipe to follow soon…..

Anyways, usually I am home with the girls on Fridays. We’ve gotten into a nice routine of a leisurely breakfast, followed by some playtime, followed by a run with them in the double stroller, sometimes with a stop at the county courthouse to file motions, and usually  ending at the library and then the coffee shop. It’s really a very nice Friday morning schedule, and something I’ve started looking forward to. Today I had a trial in the morning but I was home for the afternoon. I had to swing by the courthouse to get some documents from the prosecutor’s office, but I went up in jeans – oh the glory of it! I did swing by the coffee shop to get my standard cafe au lait with soymilk, this time with a shot of hazlenut syrup. When I got home I poured the whole thing over ice – DIVINE. I don’t drink coffee often – a few times a month – and even in the heat of the southern summer I will drink it hot, but today’s unseasonable heat (in the 80s) made me just NEED an iced coffee. It was fabulous. but as Averie of www.loveveggiesandyoga.com points out, it is way too easy to drink down an iced coffee too fast. Mine was gone before I knew it. Alas, it was worth it! I’m enjoying another iced drink today, of the more adult variety: soy milk with a touch of chocolate syrup, a touch of vanilla, and more than a touch of amaretto. Sublime, I tell you. Sublime.

We then headed to a friend’s house for our playgroup. It’s dwindled down to just us and another family most Fridays, but that works well as we all get along. We stayed for dinner – pasta, grilled zucchini, and arugula. It was simple and delicious. I really needed some time with my friend after a busy week, and the girls had a great time playing with her kids – towards the end they were all running in circles (literally) and giggling hysterically. I foresee a good nights’ sleep tonight – let’s hope!

A few days ago I made this fast and delish kale/soy chorizo dish. I got the soy chorizo at Trader Joe’s. It is a relatively new find for me. It is really good – substantial and spicy. I’ve never had non-veg chorizo so I don’t know what it is supposed to taste like, but the TJ’s soy version is great.

a touch of olive oil (you don’t need much because the soy chorizo is oily)

1/2 onion, finely chooped

1 bunch kale, torn or cut into small pieces

1/2 a package of Trader Joe’s soy chorizo

Cook onion in oil until soft. Add soy chorizo and kale. Cook until kale is wilted. There is enough salt in the chorizo to salt the whole dish, even for a super-salt-lover like me, so I usually don’t add any extra.

Serve over pasta. This time, I made this to go alongside some vegan mac n’ cheese, using this recipe: http://chefchloe.com/entrees/vegan-mac-n-cheese.html  but usually I just serve it over pasta.

I can easily eat 1/2 this recipe at one sitting – it’s that good.

This weekend’s plans: I might try to make the homemade horchata from Averie. I’ve never had horchata before, but this looks easy and refreshing, and would be a nice addition to my sudden iced-drink obsession. http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2012/03/homemade-horchata.html

2 responses to “Vegan Soy Chorizo with Kale; Vegan No-Bakes; and iced drinks at the end of a busy week

    • Oh my gosh! Thank you! I seriously am so honored that you looked at my lil’ old blog. You are an amazing blogger – your recipes, writing, and photography are all incredible. I think you might like the recipe for spinach pesto that I just posted. It’s super yum and quick.

Leave a Reply

