Vegan Doughnuts and Quick Skillet Sweet Potato Chili

Today’s run: 3 miles, with a little Bach followed by some R. Strauss. I ran on a country highway that I hadn’t run on in years; it was quite lovely to see the frost on the ground, hay rolled in the fields, and various farm animals ambling about. I complain a good bit about being in the rural south instead of my native urban northeast, but runs like today’s do make me appreciative of where I am.

We went to Charleston last weekend to see some family, and while there I found out that Diggity Doughnuts (www.diggitydoughnuts.com) was going to have its truck at a food truck festival downtown. I am a vegan who loves, and misses, doughnuts, so hearing that there were actual vegan doughnuts in South Carolina was quite thrilling. A relative and I went to try to get some of these delectable treats, but alas the line was so long that we gave up after a half-hour. If it had been just me and my husband, we would’ve stayed all day in line, but I could tell that the relative I was with, while he was polite about it, was just not feelin’ standing in line for well over an hour just for some vegan doughnuts. Sigh.

Anyways, that (of course) got me thinking about vegan doughnuts…..all week long. I have made doughnuts with success before but it’s been a long time. I tried making a batch tonight, and although they’re edible, they’re not bloggable. Not being a  native Southerner, I have not yet mastered the art of frying. I couldn’t get these quite right. I baked some, and they tasted good, but I really want to perfect the vegan fried doughnut. I will keep working on the recipe.

I did make a quick and yummy dinner. It is a very basic recipe, but it’s filling and comforting and good on a cold, grey day.

Ready to eat!

Quick Skillet Sweet Potato Chili

1-2 tablespoons chili

1 onion, chopped

1 heaping teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon chili powder, or just more cumin

a splash (1-2 tablespoons) orange juice, optional

1 large sweet potato, peeled and chopped

1 large zucchini, chopped

1 large yellow squash, or another zucchini, chopped

1 (15-oz.) can diced tomatoes

1 (15-oz.) can black beans

1 teaspoon salt, to taste

Heat the oil. Add the onion and salt, and let it cook for 5 minutes while you chop the sweet potato. Add the sweet potato and cumin/chili; stir, cover, and let cook while you chop the zucchini. Stir in the orange juice (if using) after the sweet potato has cooked for a few minutes. After the sweet potato has cooked for 5-7 minutes, add the zucchini, squash, tomatoes, and beans. Cover, and cook for another 5-10 minutes, until bubbling and all veggies are cooked. Servce over rice.

After onion and sweet potato have cooked, add the other veggies and beans

Leave a Reply

