Peanut Butter Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan)

Today’s run: 3 miles, Mahler

This has been a busy week already. I’ve been in trial, which always means stress and bad eating habits. Today I did not get lunch; we had a quick break mid-trial but I had to go back and pump (yay for still nursing!) and didn’t have time to eat. I am not the kind of person who likes to skip meals. I get cranky. Harumph. I made up for it by making another vegan homemade-tortilla quesadilla for dinner. Yum.

Onto more important things, like these cookies….

 

Peanut butter. Coconut. Chocolate. Does it get any better than this combo?

1/2 cup vegan margarine (1 stick), softened (I soften it in the microwave, until soft and melty but not entirely melted)

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 tablespoons soy milk

3/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste

3/4 cup sugar, white or brown

1 3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking sode (I forgot to add the soda this time and they were still okay)

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes (I like Let’s Do Organic brand, and I can find it in my local grocery store)

1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips

Method:
Soft margarine in the microwave until it is almost melted but not liquid. I learned this trick from www.loveveggiesandyoga.com – a great site for many things, and she has a fabulous tutorial on why cookies made with melted margarine are better than the traditional creamed-margarine method (basically, it has to do with allowing the cookies to stay soft – score!). Averie also has incredible, incredible pictures. They are works of art.

Mix in the peanut butter. Add soy milk, vanilla, salt, baking powder, and sugar; combine well. Stir in flour, then coconut and chips.

Form into cookies either with your hands or by smushing a ball of cookie dough with a fork (the traditional peanut butter cookie method). This cookie dough is too stiff to allow the cookies to completely spread on their own, so you’ll need to help it along a big.

Bake at 350 for 10 or so minutes. If you want them soft, take them out before they get browned, and when the top is no longer sticky.

Makes about 2 dozen.

(I found these a little sweet and will probably reduce the sugar a tad the  next time I make them).

I really like whole wheat flour in these cookies; the cookies are substantial due to the peanut butter and already have texture due to the coconut, so they can withstand the assertiveness of whole wheat flour. Usually I make cookies with a combination of whole wheat and white, or all white, but these I prefer with 100% whole wheat. They’d be just fine with white flour, though.

There is something just wonderful and decadent about the combination of creamy, salty peanut butter, slightly-textured, sweet coconut, and dark melty chocolate chips…..drool. These remind my husband of a candy bar. They are really good!

One response to “Peanut Butter Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan)

  1. These look yummy…I have made my fair share of vegan peanut butter choco chip cookies before, but have never made them with the coconut flakes. Looking forward to trying them….I will have to share with my friend who loves all things coconut 🙂

Leave a Reply

