Vegan Chocolate-Maple Truffles

I’m still working on this recipe – I got it right a few months ago, but didn’t write it down and haven’t made it since (until tonight). Tonight’s version was not quite as perfect as the batch I made a few months ago, but the truffles were still yummy and satisfying. I made them tonight because we are giving up desserts for Lent (ACK!!!!). We just decided this today, so I didn’t have time to prepare by gorging for weeks prior to Lent; I needed to get a sweet-fix in TODAY! These are quick and definitely sweet, so truffles it was.

I’m a little wary of going without desserts for 6 weeks, but I know it will be good for me.

Besides these truffles, I had spinach pesto (recipe under sauces; I really need to figure out how to do internal links!) over brown rice with steamed broccoli. I gobbled it down so fast I didn’t get a picture, but it was delish and filling.

3 responses to “Vegan Chocolate-Maple Truffles

  1. These look sinful! I made a delicious smoothie for myself and the girls today and thought of you as I was using my handy-dandy immersion blender 🙂 That thing rocks! Clean up is my favorite part! Question…have you ever used spirulina? Right now we’re taking vitamins just in case, but I am researching as often as I can to figure out a way to ensure we are getting all we need from food alone. I ordered nutritional yeast today for the first time. And have you ever used chia seed? All of these items are so expensive, so I wanted to get your opinion (if you have one) on them. Thanks, Carmen

    • hi Carmen! I’m so glad you like the immersion blender. I haven’t made a smoothie in a few weeks….sounds yummy!

      I have had spirulina but it has been ages (i.e. back when I was in college!). It’s hard to find, as you point out, but I think it’s a good natural source of B-12, right?

      I also try to get everything from food – I’m not big on supplements, but I did take a pre-natal and I still take a multi-vitamin a few days a week since I am still nursing.

      I have never tried chia seeds, but I’m really curious about them. I’ve seen them used on various blogs and I’d like to try them, but I don’t konw where to find them….Whole Foods?

      I usually buy nutritional yeast in bulk at Whole Foods – it’s expensive per pound, but it’s really non-dense so a lot (in terms of volume) doesn’t weigh much. It keeps forever, too. I sometimes use nutitional yeast all the time, and then I’ll go through a spell of not using it at all…

      Even though Whole Foods and Trader Joes are an hour away, we are lucky to have a Mennonite bulk-foods store a few miles away. I can find some stuff, like cococnut oil, flax seed, various flours, etc. there for relatively cheap prices.

      Let me know if you try chia seeds or spirulina, and what you do with them!

  2. Thanks, I will let you know…have you ever checked out Vitacost on the internet for ordering special items? They have a lot of organics and they are cheaper than our local Kroger. That’s where I will probably order the chia seed and spirulina, if I get the nerve that is. There’s something about the chia seed turning into a gel that kind of freaks me out. But it does sound very nutritious. Whole foods one hour away? You are so lucky! Ours is 2 1/2 hours away 😦 I am happy to report that Mississippi is getting it’s first ever Whole Foods next year…although it will still be over 2 hours away :/

Leave a Reply

