Sunflower Seed-Flax Crackers (Vegan)

Today’s run: standard mid-week 3 miles, Dvorak cello concerto. I have a trial coming up next week and have been thinking about it non-stop, but particularly when running….I think I figure out half of my pre-trial motions while running!

Onto a new recipe….

This was my first attempt at making crackers. They came out pretty well. I’ve been wanting to try making crackers for quite some time; every time I’ve enjoyed someone else’s homemade crackers, I think ‘dude, I’ve totally got to make these!’. These were easy and came together quickly. Both girls liked them, too. I made them because I had the oven going for something else and didn’t want to ‘waste’ heat by not using both baking racks.

This is a good basic recipe. I’m going to experiment with other seeds/nuts (pumpkin seeds? YUM) and other flours (I really wanted to make this with oat flour but we were out of oatmeal, shockingly). I think I’ll also experiment with sprinkling stuff on top, like salt, poppy or sesame seeds, garlic….

Makes…..several cups of crackers, I guess. Crackers are hard to measure 🙂

1/4 cup flax seeds, ground

1/4 cup sunflower seeds, ground

1 1/2 cups flour, white or whole  wheat

about a teaspoon of salt

1-2 teaspoons of sugar

2 tablespoons oil

1/2 cup water

Grind flax and sunflower seeds – I just threw both into my Magic Bullet, and in a few seconds they were ground up. A few unground seeds are fine; they add texture and crunch.

Mix all ingredients. Roll out onto a cookie sheet, using a rolling pin. I needed to use two cookie sheets, but if you have really big cookie sheets, one is probably fine. You want the dough pretty thin – as thin as possible, really, but don’t stress over it. Using a serated knife, score the dough into whatever size/shape crackers you want.
Bake at 350 for about 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy. The crackers at the ends of the sheets will be done before the ones in the middle; just let them get a little extra cooked.

Remove from oven when the crackers are light brown and come off of sheet easily. Slide from the cookie sheet onto a cooling rack. Store in an air-tight container.

These also worked well as teething-type crackers for the one-year old. She loved them and it took her FOREVER to eat one; she seemed to enjoy gnawing on them.

Leave a Reply

