Sriracha-Veggie Stirfry

We picked up some sriracai sauce today. That stuff is just delicious. Diggity Doughnuts makes a sriracha-peanut butter doughnut (vegan) that is apparently just out of this world. I was hoping to try one when we were in Charleston a few weeks ago, but alas the line for the vegan doughnut truck was too long, and I was with a non-vegan relative who did not seem to understand the urgency of vegan doughnuts.  Sigh. Anyways…I was in the mood for something spicy and spicy, but of course I needed something quick, too. This is what I ended up making. We got in from a family walk (us, dogs and kids), and this was ready in about 20 minutes.

Serves 4.

1 8-ounces package wide lo mein noddles, or other Asian-style noodles

1 tablespoon oil

1/2 onion, finely sliced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 scant tablespoon peanut butter (this is more for effect/consistency rather than flavor, so you don’t need much)

2 large zucchini, half-moon slice

1 head broccoli, chopped

1 tablespoon sriracha sauce, more or less to taste

Method:

boil water and cook noodles (duh)

meanwhile, saute onion for a few minutes; then add garlic and cook another minute, then add soy sace and peanut butter and cook until onion is soft.

add all veggies. cook until veggies are of desired consistency. stir in the sriracha sauce.

serve over noodles, with extra sriracha if desired. My husband poured the stuff on, but the 3-year old and I enjoyed it as is.

Tonight I found myself getting a little cranky because I’ve been doing most of the cooking lately, and I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning too. I really can’t complain, because I love cooking, and my husband works full-time-plus (he’s a college professor, so between class prep, grading, research, and publishing, his job never ends) and I am home (usually) 2 days a week (I work part-time as a lawyer and part-time as an adjunct political science professor at a different institution). So I really _should_ do more of the cleaning, because I have more time to do it. Plus, he is FABULOUS with the kids. On the days I work, he stays home with them in the morning and then works until late at night. So really, I can’t complain….but I still do 😉 I don’t mind washing dishes; in fact, I kind of LIKE doing dishes. I worked in the dish room all through college and I loved it. It was one of my favorite jobs. I went to a big Ivy League school that, although not as elitist and snobby as SOME Ivy Leagues, still had its fair share of snobbiness and elitism. I enjoyed my time in the dishroom with regular folks – it reminded me that we’re all the same, and that some of us are born into less-fortunate circumstances than others. It kept me grounded amongst the wealthiness around me.

Anyways…..I like doing dishes. I really do. What I DON’T like is drying dishes, putting clean dishes away, and emptying the dishwasher. I do all those things when necessary, but not until it is absolutely necessary…..as in, the dish-drying rack is piled high with measuring cups and tupperware and pots and pans teetering on top of each other; the slightest nudge will cause the entire quivering pile to collapse. At that point, I will grudgingly – GRUDGINGLY – put away some dishes so I can add more. I prefer, however, to leave it for someone else to do.

As I write, I should note that my sweet husband is busy washing diapers, and he’ll probably be the one to stuff and fold them, too. So he is really helpful.

Question: Are there any household chores you despise? Any you love? I have read and heard that chores/housecleaning is one of the top three argument-topics for married couples; I can believe it!

Leave a Reply

