Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls with Brown-Sugar Glaze (Vegan)

ARGH. I had kind of a rough day at work today. I worked really, really hard to get someone to agree to something, and that person finally did, but then the person above that person changed our mutually-agreed upon decision…long story short, it ended up negatively affecting my client. I have a hard time letting it go when something like this happens. I just hate to see someone suffer.

I’m also having a rough time with my lack of daily exercise lately. I have intended to step up my mileage, and I really do need to do it. So here is my fitness goal for the week: Run 4/5 weekdays, with at least two of those runs being 4 miles or more; run both days of the weekend, with one as a long (10+) run.

I’d like to say I’m also going to re-start doing crunches and hand weights, but I’ve been saying that for, um, almost years at this point. ūüôā I’m lucky to have nicely toned arms from picking up two kids all the time, I guess!

Anyways….I got a fair amount of cooking/baking done over the weekend. I have¬†so much more time to cook on the weekends than during the week. I¬†try so hard to cook for leftovers, but¬†lately, we’ve been eating everything¬†in one meal! I¬†guess that means I either need to seriously double recipes, or just make more things. ¬†I have some upcoming posts planned on things like vegan-doughnut-success, seitan nuggets, Thai stirfry…..

but first, this scruptious breakfast treat!

Pumpkin. And cinnamon. And a rich, bready dough. And layers of more cinnamon-y goodness. All topped off with a penuche-flavored glaze.

YUM.

I made these Saturday morning for breakfast. We were out of bread, which is a breakfast staple for us and the girls. I am the designated bread-maker in the family. I first started making bread in high school; I used to make it as a sort of stress-reliever. Punching down dough is pretty a pretty satisfying way to get out one’s aggressions. Plus, the side benefit of freshly-baked bread, and the accompanying smell of bread-baking, made the punching-down part even more fun.

Now I primarily make bread as a way to ensure that we’re getting good, wholesome ingredients, and to cut down on costs. Making bread is way cheaper than buying it, and although it takes a few hours, very little of that time is active time – most of it is spent waiting for the dough to rise, during which you can be doing all sorts of other things.

Anyways…on to these rolls. They sort of combine two of my favorite recipes, pumpkin pancakes and cinnamon rolls (both of which can be found under the category ‘breakfast’ – if someone knows how to link to recipes/previous posts directly in a post, PLEASE let me know. I’ll send you some of these in return). They are quick and relatively healthy – I reduced the fat and sugar from my standard cinnamon roll recipe, plus they have whole wheat flour.

I was out of confectioners’ sugar (the horror!) so I made up an impromptu brown-sugar glaze. It was tasty; it reminded me of penuche fudge, which is a New England delicacy. (I’ve made vegan penuche fudge before; I should post about that sometime….).

A simple confectioners’ sugar/soy milk glaze would be easier and probably just as tasty. It would also allow the flavor of the pumpkin to come through more.

(I sprinked some ground up pumpkin seeds on these, simply because I had them lying around.)

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 cup pureed pumpkin

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup oil

2-4 tablespoons sugar (I used 2 tablespoons, but if you like things sweet, use more. If you’re not glazing these, I’d use more like 4-6 tablespoons)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

a scant 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cups white flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

Filling:

1 1/2 tablespoon vegan margarine, melte

2 tablespoons cinnamon sugar, to taste

Glaze:

use the confectioners’ sugar glaze from the cinnamon roll recipe (confectioners’ sugar + a dash¬†salt + soy milk), or try this:

2 tablespoons vegan margarine

1 cup brown sugar

a dash salt

1 1/2 tablespoons unsweetened vanilla almond milk (method below)

Whisk together all wet ingredients. Add dry ingredients and stir gently until just mixed. Dough will be thick; just try to get all the flour incorporated without over-mixing.

Divide the dough into 2 pieces. Pat one piece out on a lightly-greased cookie sheet into a rectangle that is about 6 inches by about 12 inches (no need to be exact here).

Brush the dough with half of the melted margarine (I just use my fingers to smear it around); sprinkle with a tablespoon of cinnamon sugar. Roll the long way up, and slice into 1/2 – 1 inch slices. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Repeat process with remaining dough, margarine, and cinnamon sugar. Bake at 350 for about 15-20 minutes.

Remove from oven and put either the confectioners’ sugar glaze or the brown sugar glaze over; cool in the pan.

Brown sugar glaze:

melt margarine. Add brown sugar, salt, and almond milk. Stir, stir stir. Let it boil for about a minute, until sugar is disolved and mixture is somewhat thin. DON’T let it boil longer than a minute or so, or the sugar will crystallize and the glaze will get hard and clumpy and hard to work with (but still delicious).

Leave a Reply

