Lenten Cocoa and Vegan Oatmeal, Pumpkin Seed, and Flax Seed Crackers

Today’s run: 4 hilly miles, while pushing the girls in the double stroller. I should get extra credit for that, right?

Yesterday’s run: 4 miles, more Elgar.

Today’s recipe: crackers that I made earlier this week that are already almost gone. They’re pretty tasty.

These crackers don’t photograph well, but I did get what I thought was a pretty picture of some hot cocoa I made. I like the swirly-ness of the almond milk and cocoa powder.

I love my big Morning Edition mug! A good mug makes all the difference.

I love hot cocoa, but I have been enjoying it almost every night since giving up dessert for Lent. I figure the way I make hot cocoa, it doesn’t really count as dessert. I put some cocoa powder in a mug, fill the mug almost all full with water, stir stir stir, microwave it, and add a splash of almond or soy milk and some sweetener (I use generic-brand Splenda; this is the only thing for which I use artificial sweetener. I bought some years ago and still have it lying around). I sometimes add a dash of salt and a drop of vanilla. It is delicious and light, and just the thing for an evening treat. If you are used to real hot cocoa made with milk and sugar, don’t try this! 🙂

I tried another cracker experiment. I was really pleased with how my first batch of crackers turned out (see recipe under snacks); in fact, we were ALL pleased with them. The three-year-old practically begged for them, and the one-year-old used them as teething biscuits.

I really like how this recipe turned out. I think they are pretty healthy, too – lots of fiber, some protein, and some omega-3s, if you care about that sort of thing.

These don’t photograph well (at least, not with my cheap-o point-and-shoot) but I posted a pretty picture of cocoa so that counts, right?

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cups oatmeal

1/4 cup flax seed

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds (raw)

1-2 tablespoons sugar

salt, to taste (1/2-1 teaspoon)

3 tablespoons oil

1 cup water

Method:

Grind the oatmeal into oat flour. Grind the flax seeds and pumpkin seeds. (I used the Magic Bullet for this). Mix dry ingredients; stire in wet ingredients. You may have to need the dough just a few times to get everything to mix in. Add a tiny bit more water if needed.

Roll dough out on a metal cookie sheet (about 1/3 to 1/2 of the dough at a time) to about 1/8 inch thickness. Score into cracker-sized pieces. Bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes, until crispy and lightly browned. If the crackers don’t come easily off of the pan, cook for a few more minutes until they do. Cool on cooling rack or even right on cookie sheet. Store in airtight container.

I told my mother-in-law about making these and she seemed impressed that I made crackers, so I gave my husband some to give to her, and now I have a big head about her being impressed with my skills 🙂 I’m sure everyone has their own MIL-related tensions…..mine is over the fact that I work (gasp!) outside the home, instead of being 100% completely and totally fulfilled by serving my husband and children at home. I know people who are very happy as stay-at-home-parents, but not everyone has that sort of personality, and I certainly do not. To each her own. Unfortunately, it’s hard for my MIL to see it this way. She’s pretty religious and somehow ties religion into this particular debate….ah, it’s totally not worth getting into. Anyways, I always congratulate myself when I manage to impress her, and these were apparently impressive crackers 😉

Leave a Reply

