Creamy-Green-y Pasta (or Pizza) Sauce (Vegan)

Wow, I have some running stats to catch up on. Whoops.

Saturday’s run: an easy 2 or so miles (I usually don’t count anything under 3 miles…..) in preparation for what was supposed to be a 10+ miler on Sunday….

Sunday’s run: we did not sleep well Saturday night due to the 1-year old needing to nurse constantly, so I was not able to wake up early enough to get in a super-long run. Instead, I ran in the late afternoon and had a great 6+ hilly miles in just under 1 hour, which is fast for me šŸ™‚ Music: a mix of Dvorak, Brahms, and Elgar cello concertoes. Although I’m disappointed that I didn’t meet my long-run goal from last week, I was proud of myself for running in the afternoon and running at a fairly decent pace. I really am an early-morning runner; afternoons are hard for me.

Monday’s run: 3 hilly miles. Same mix of cello concertoes.

today: day off from running

Goals for the week: Pretty much the same as last week: run 4 out of 5 week days, with two of those runs being 4 or more miles; run both days on the weekend, with one of those runs being 10+ miles. We’ll see…..

This is an easy, easy, easy recipe that is delicious and so healthy. I don’t calculate or count calories, but I bet this has very few calories. I like it over pasta; it’s also a good dipping sauce for pizza crust or calzones. It would probably also work well as a green pizza sauce, maybe with some nutritional yeast thrown in…..note to self: have to try that sometime.

I feel like my recipes are getting sort of boring, because I really wanted to post about baking and dessert creations, and since we gave up dessert for Lent, it’s sort of hard to have any neat baked creations to write about. I will probably go on a dessert recipe overload when Lent is over (as well as a dessert-EATING overload….tee hee!).

Ingredients:

1 pound fresh silken tofu

1 bag (6 – 8 ounces) fresh baby spinach

2 cloves garlic, or to taste

2 tablespoons olive oil (you could omit to cut calories, but it really gives the sauceĀ  a nice rich, buttery flavor)

salt, to taste (about a teaspoon or less)

Method:

ready for it? this one’s a toughie….

put tofu and about half the spinach in a bowl; blend with your immersion blender; add other ingredients and blend until creamy. You can use a regular blender too, of course.

YUM.

Leave a Reply

