Marathon Disappointment, Cinnamon-Roll Bread, and Quick Cast-iron Tofu

I was really hoping to be able to blog about getting into the Marine Corp Marathon today. I missed the sign up last year by a few days. I double-checked the date and KNEW it was today, and was all set to sign up. I checked the site last night, and it said that registration started at 3 p.m. today; it reminded viewers that it sold out in 28 hours last year. I brought my laptop to court with me, but decided it would unprofessional to register for a marathon while trying to help clients get out of jail 🙂 so I signed on as soon as I got home – and it was sold out at 5:40! I was SO disappointed. This is the 3rd year I’ve tried to run it, and I really thought I was on top of it this year, considering how long (relatively speaking) it took to sell out last year.

Here’s a cute picture of my big guy to help cheer me up:

The cute part is, my 3-year old could see that I was sad about something. She kept asking me what it was; I tried to explain, but it’s sort of a abstract concept to explain registering on the computer for a marathon to a 3-year old. She saw me looking dejectedly at the computer (I kept hitting ‘refresh’ in case it wasn’t really sold out), then she came over and said “What’s wrong? Did the buttons not work? Do you want me to press this button, Mommy? Or maybe this button will make it work?” while pointing at various keys on the computer. It was so sweet and cute. She doesn’t use the computer yet (she’s only 3!) but she is interested in it, and knows that she is not supposed to press the buttons; she saw me looking sadly at the computer, and thought I was sad about the computer not working correctly. Very sweet.

I almost impulsively signed up for the Baltimore marathon, but I decided to wait and not be so rash. I was going to run DC because I have wanted to for years, plus my big brother lives in DC so I could visit (and stay with!) him and his family. I could still do that if I ran Baltimore, but I need to factor in travel costs and make sure it’s something I really want to do, since it is not a race I’ve lusted over for years as the Marine Corps was. Sigh.

Today’s run: 4 miles. I had to push myself; I was tired. Oh well.

No exciting recipes today, but I made some yummy cinnamon-oatmeal quick bread last night that we enjoyed for breakfast today (we were almost out of bread, and the husband and 3-year old eat toast almost every morning). It was really good, but I need to perfect the recipe before sharing it.

Dinner was comfort food: pasta with sauce, tofu (‘recipe’ below, if you can even call it that), and some veggies.

Pan-fried tofu:

oil for your cast-iron skillet

1 pound firm tofu, pressed

1 -2 tablespoons soy sauce

1-2 teaspoons nutritional yeast

Heat up oil. Toss in tofu and cook over medium heat for a few minutes, until slightly browned. Pour in soy sauce and nutritional yeast, and cook until nicely browned. Delicious, quick, easy, and the kids LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

