Vegan Orange-Oat Scones

Yesterday’s run: none. We are working on getting the 1+ year old to sleep through the night, and Monday night was rough, so I slept in a bit Tuesday.

Today’s run: 3 miles. I couldn’t find my ipod so it was sans music. I got some good thinking done on a proposal for a meeting I have tomorrow, so that was a score.

I made these scones last weekend. I’m still trying to replicate the oatmeal-date scones that the Cambridge Whole Foods has. Every time I visit my parents I get a few of those scones – they are simply sublime. Yum. This recipe is closer than the last but still not a 100%-perfect version of the Whole Foods ones. They are still really yummy and worth making, though. My three-year-old kept declaring “scones!” with a look of utter delight on her face – there is something so cute about a 3 year old getting excited about scones.

3 cups white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 cups oatmeal

1/2 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

zest from a large orange

1 tablespoon orange juice

1/2 cup vegan margarine, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/4 cups soymilk

1/2-1 cup chopped dates, optional

Preheat oven to 350. If you want to make triangular pans, lightly grease two round cake pans. Otherwise use cookie sheets.

Mix dry ingredients. Stir in OJ, melted margarine, soymilk, and vanilla; mix until just combined. Add dates if using. Press into cake pans and score, or drop by about 1/4 cupfuls onto cookies sheets. Bake about 20 minutes or until lightly browned. Serve with a little Earth Balance, ginger preserves, or whatever you like.

These didn’t photograph well….next time!

Leave a Reply

