Kale Bowl

I don’t watch any sports – except for the Olympics, but that’s only because my husband is obsessed with the Olympics – but I would totally watch a football game if it was part of something called the Kale Bowl. I. Love. Kale. Seriousy, folks, it is just the best veg ever. Speaking of loving foods, has anyone seen that icky Jack-in-the-Box commerical in which the guy marries bacon? ICK. It is just a weird and disturbing concept. I cringe and look the other way every time it comes on. I wonder who, WHO came up with that concept, and who thought it was a good idea and actually filmed it? I mean, yes, I profess my love for kale, but seeing a commercial for a restaurant that dramatically acts out a wedding between me and kale would just be weird and not at all enticing.

Anyways…today’s recipe is barely a recipe. I love making rice-and-veggie bowls. Brown rice (or whatever grain you have around….I’ve used pasta, bulghur, whatever), steamed/sauteed veggies, a protein if you want (sauteed tofu, found in the ‘main dishes’ category, is delish in a veg bowl; so are chick peas), and then a delicious and salty sauce to pour all over and stir around. YUM. It is simple, good, fresh, healthy, veg eating at its best. I like to keep a bowl of cooked rice in the fridge; that way you can make the sauce while the veggies are cooking, and look! suddenly, in about 10 minutes, you have a healthy, satisfying meal.

With this particular sauce, I just cooked with veggies (kale and zucchini) sans oil or salt, since the sauce is salty and has a good amout of fat in it. Usually, I cook the veggies with both oil and salt; it just depends on the sauce. This sauce is good with lots of different veggie combinations – kale, zucchini, and carrots; kale, broccoli, zucchini; kale and zucchini; kale and broccoli…..as long as there’s kale, it will be good!

Use a Magic Bullet for this, if you have one, or a blender if you don’t. All measurements are approximate.

Serves: enough for at least 2 bowls

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1-2 tablespoons miso

1-2 tablespoons tahini

1 clove garlic

a squirt or two of srirachi

1 tablespoon oil

1/4 cup water

Put everything in the Magic Bullet, and blend until all smooth.

 

 

Leave a Reply

