Friday Delights and Vegan Cinnamon-Apple-Oat Pancakes

Ah, Friday – it’s cliche but true – Friday is a wonderful thing, particularly at the end of a hard week. This Friday was a particularly welcome one for me, for whatever reason. The girls and I have fallen into a delightful Friday routine of a run (with the double stroller), with stops at the library and coffee shop on the way home. Today was a bit different. Since I didn’t have to go to work today, the day started out in a leisurely fashion: pancakes followed by an easy 3-miler. Then, I did something I hate doing. I went shopping (insert applause here, please). I needed a new pair of black pants. I wear mine all the time, for work, concerts, just around, etc. Last week I realized that my black pants were being held together not only by packing tape, but also bobby pins. Not good. So, the girls and my mother-in-law and I all went on a shopping expedition. I normally consider shopping to be about the worst way to spend time (unless its book or grocery shopping, neither of which I mind). However, the specific focus of our trip (black pants black pants gotta get some black pants) and the fact that we were shopping with two young kids (i.e. in-and-out-as-quickly-as-possible) made for a somewhat tolerable trip. I even have a new pair of black pants to show for my troubles, and they are held together by honest-to-goodness thread! Hooray for me.

After our shopping victory, we went to Moe’s and picked up two vegan burritos to bring home for lunch. It was a delicious treat. Our Moe’s always has to cook tofu fresh for me, which means it’s extra-tasty. We rarely, rarely eat out or get take-in. That is partially because we are super-cheap and hate spending money, but it’s also partially because we live in a very non-vegan friendly area, and there’s just not much good food around us. It’s easier and better if we just cook. Every now and then, though, some take-out is a delightful treat.

Then, I made homemade tortillas with refried beans, Trader Joe’s chorizo, and spinach. Delicious. Hearty, filling, and sooooo easy. This also meant that I used my cast iron skillet twice in day, which always makes me happy.

I am working on a recipe for non-chocolate no-bakes. Confession time: I am much more of a vanilla person than a chocolate person. I like chocolate, but usually I can take it or leave it. I much prefer vanilla. I love no-bakes, but I’d really like a find a way to make them without any cocoa powder. Tonight’s experiment wasn’t a complete and total success, but it’s a step in the right direction. I will just have to keep trying until I get it right, eh? 😉

I made these cinnamon-apple-oatmeal pancakes the other day. They were so good! This recipe makes a lot: enough to feed four, plus some extras for the dogs (ahem) or the freezer.

1 cup white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup oatmeal

2 teaspoons baking powder

salt, to taste (about 1/2 teaspoon)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon ground flax seed

1 heaping teaspoon cinnamon

2 cups water/soymilk or a combination thereof (I usually use 1 cup of water and 1 cup of soymilk)

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

a splash of vanilla

1 tablespoon oil

Combine dry ingredients and mix. Add all wet ingredients at once and stir briefly and gently. Heat up your cast iron skillet; while it is heating, let the batter sit for about 5 minutes. Cook as you would any pancakes….pour batter by about 1/4 cup, wait ’til bubbly, flip, cook, eat. Flip only once, remember?

Serve with Earth Balance and maple syrup, or just eat plain (my favorite!).

Leave a Reply

