Vegan Cranberry-Cashew Bread

I am so incredibly lazy. I can’t post my fabulous vegan peanut butter eggs recipe because, even though I made them 2 days ago, I haven’t yet taken any pictures of them. LAZY VEGAN!

The peanut butter eggs are really quite delicious, though. I will post the recipe tomorrow. My husband was super impressed with them, and he’s pretty picky about his chocolate.

On a  non-lazy note, I saved another client from some jail time today. Sweet. He was someone who really, really did not need to go to jail.

This is a recipe I made quite some time ago. I have an old family recipe for cranberry-orange bread with walnuts; I love cranberries, but I tire of the  typical cranberry-orange and/or cranberry-walnut combination. The cashew topping in this recipe creates a deep, buttery richness and really rounds out the flavors of the bread. Tangy cranberries, sweet, moist bread, plus a delicately-textured rich nut streusel topping = close to perfection in a loaf.  I love, love, LOVE steusel-y toppings; they feel and taste so rich and decadent, and can really transform a quick bread into something truly special, almost a coffee cake.

This bread has more sugar than I would ordinarily use, but I was making it for company so I made it sweeter than I would prefer. You could easily reduce the sugar by 1/4-1/2 cup.

Makes 2 loaves

Topping (this makes slightly more than you will likely end up using):

1/2 cup raw cashews, ground into a fine powder

a dash of salt

1/4 cup white sugar

Bread:

1 1/2 cusp sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups cranberries, roughly chopped

1 cup soymilk

1 cup water (or another cup soymilk)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup oil

3 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons baking powder

Preheat oven to 350. Grease 2 loaf pans well; line with parchment or wax paper if you have it (the bread is so moist that it is a little tricky to get out of the pans. You could also make a coffee cake in a 9 x 13.

Mix sugar, salt, vanilla, oil, and soymilk/water well. Add dry ingredients and mix lightly until combined; stir/fold in the cranberries.

Grind cashews into a fine flour (I used the Magic Bullet) and mix topping ingredients together.

Pour batter into pans and sprinke cashew mix on top.

Bake until a toothpick comes out mostly clean, about 45 minutes.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

