Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

I think these peanut butter cups and I have made up and moved on in our relationship. At first I thought the chocolate was too bitter and the peanut butter did not offer a strong enough contrast. However, as I’ve tried them a few more times over the past week or so, I grudgingly admit that they’re pretty darn good as is, and that it must have been my wonky tastebuds that created the problem.

You can use whatever chocolate you like here, but I think dark is actually better (it’s rare for me to like dark chocolate, which is tough when you’re a vegan) because the peanut butter is pretty sweet.

 

As I said when I blogged about the Easter peanut butter eggs, vegan peanut butter cups can be as easy as melted chocolate + peanut butter. These are a little closer to Reese’s, though, and I like that the peanut butter holds up on its own and is not a gloopy mess when you bite into the cup, as plain peanut would be.

makes 12 mini cups

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar, plus another tablespoon or so

a splash (1/4 teaspoon) of vanilla, optional

a dash (1/4 teaspoon) of salt, optional

8 squares of Trader Joe’s Pound Plus 72% chocolate, or other vegan dark chocolate, MORE if you like chocolate and want a nice, thick wall encasing the peanut butter

Cream together all ingredients other than the chocolate (duh!). Melt the chocolate. Line a mini-muffin pan with paper liners. Put some melted chocolate in the bottom of each cup and use a knife to gently smear it up the side. If you like a thicker chocolate wall, use more chocolate; if you like a thinner wall (like me), use less. Put a teaspoonr or two of the peanut butter mixture in each cup and cover with more chocolate. I formed little peanut butter balls and just plopped each one into the chocolate-lined cup.

As I was making these, my sweet husband came by and felt the need to comment that REAL candy makers use air pressure to push the chocolate from the bottom up the sides of the cup (he apparently learned this on one of those “how it’s made” shows, back when we had cable). He offered to try doing the same with a straw. I declined. Crazy guy. Crazy, crazy, crazy. Anyways, if you want an even, professional look, maybe blowing air on the melted chocolate through a straw will give you that. I don’t know. Let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

