Old Favorites and Upcoming Recipes

Last week was craaazy busy. Grades were due, I had to drive all over the state for various court appearances and meetings, and I had some music commitments as well. It was all fun and rewarding, but goodness, am I tired! One of my meetings took me to Greenville, where I was able to stop off at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s – woo-hoo! I was pleased to see that I am not the only fan of the TJ’s soy chorizo; it was labelled as a new customer favorite. Good stuff.

I had a beautifully refreshing 6 mile run this morning. I signed up for a marathon in the fall, so I need to start thinking about mileage.

I’ve made a number of old favorites/basics lately; I’ve also tried some new recipes and have salvaged (or attempted to salvage)  some recipe disasters.

Here is one of the attempts at salvaging a disaster: making frosting-stuffed cookies with fudge that didn’t quite work:

On to the old favorites: first, chick pea and zucchini burgers

1 can of chick peas, drained

1 clove garlic

1/2 onion, finely minced (optional)

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

salt, to taste

1 teaspoon dried oregano, optional

aobut 1 cup cooked rice

2 medium zucchini, shredded

1 tablespoon whole wheat flour, as needed

Puree or smoosh the chick peas, oil, garlic, and salt. It doesn’t need to be completed smooth.  Add other ingredients. Cook on a cast iron skillet that has been lightly oiled. Once you get the skillet hot, about 3-4 minutes per side should be sufficient.

We also had another old favorite, Trader Joe’s soy chorizo and kale

1/2 an onion, sliced

1/2 a container of TJ’s soy chorizo

1 bunch kale, torn into pieces

Saute onion; add soy chorizo and kale, and cook until kale is wilted.

Some upcoming posts:

Straight Up Vegan Pumpkin Bread/Muffins

Isa’s Spinach-Mushroom Strata from VWAV

Strawberry Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

