Sunday Evening Sandwiches – with Tempeh!

yesterday’s run: 6.5 miles, sans water and sans Ipod. I set out for an easy three miles but just felt like running more. Today’s run: slightly over a mile to the gym, a gym workout, and a run back. It has been probably a year since I’ve gone to the gym. It’s close to my mother-in-law’s house, but a 15 minute drive from ours, so I just never make it there. I really should make more of an effort.

Last week when I was at Trader Joe’s I saw a big jar of vegan mayonnaise for a fabulous price. I decided to try it, and was pretty excited about my purchase…until I realized that I have no idea what to do with mayonnaise. It’s been almost 2 decades since I’ve had mayonnaise, and even in my pre-vegan days I just didn’t eat it much. So, I kept wondering, what do people do with mayonnaise? It occurred to me that probably, just probably, folks use it on sandwiches. So tonight’s dinner was designed as an attempt to try to use some mayonnaise. It turned out beautifully. I still have a ton of mayo to use, though, so I’d welcome some suggestions!

I pressed some tofu and then pan-fried it in my cast iron skillet with some oil. After it had cooked for a few minutes, I added a mixture of soy sauce, garlic, and hot sauce. I did the same with some tempeh. I also dry-grilled some zucchini on the stove-top grill, and I made some of my soon-t0-be-famous spinach pesto, this time with raw sunflower seeds for the nuts. Yum. I had made bread earlier this week, so we used that for our sandwiches: a tiny bit of mayo, some spinach pesto, zucchini, and tofu or tempeh. These were a big hit. My 1 1/2 year old loved the tempeh and ate some plain. The pictures of the finished sandwich are pretty underwhelming, but this really was a nice, and quick, combination. Nothing was so strongly flavored enough to be dominant, so you really got to taste each component. My husband made a few zucchini-tofu rolls, and those were tasty too.

cast iron skillet-fried tofu

 

Cast iron skillet-fried tempeh – YUM!

Spinach pesto – my favorite, and probably best, recipe creation EVER

A fully compiled sandwich. See? I told you it was underwhelming in looks – but it is totally worth making and eating!

I had a few baking adventures yesterday, one of which turned out superbly (picture below, and recipe coming soon!) and one of which came out tasty but otherwise not successful. My husband nicknamed them ‘natural disaster brownies’ because they look like they were hit by a tornado. 🙂

So. Freakin’. Good.

Questions:

1. What do you do, if anything, with mayonnaise, vegan or otherwise?

2. Have you ever bought something that you didn’t know exactly what to do with (food-wise)?

3. Have you ever had an unsalvagable baking or cooking disaster?

Leave a Reply

