Peanut Butter Coconut Chocolate Chip Vegan Bars

These are FANTASTIC. They are soft and chewy without being fluffy;  dense without being gummy; they have perfect combination of flavors and textures. YUM. They remind me of a vegan version of some of the treats Averie bakes up over at www.loveveggiesandyoga.com.

Running stats, before I forget: 6.5 miles yesterday, 11.5 today; all while listening to Dvorak, Brahms and Elgar. Not bad! I’ve signed up for a marathon in late October. I dread training during the hot southern summer, but it’ll just make me tougher, right? Right?

Second, I have to give my husband props for a wonderful mother’s day. He made a fabulous lunch: homemade seitan with a shallot-caper sauce, coconut-oil brussels sprouts, Indian spiced green beans, baked sweet potato, and then a plum crisp with homemade vegan soy ice cream. Holy yum. I had a very relaxing day. I started with the afore-mentioned 11.5 mile run; I honestly cannot think of a better start to a day than a good long run.

On to the recipe……makes 16 or so bars (one 8 x 8 panful)

Preheat oven to 350.

1/3 cup peanut butter, creamy (unless you like crunchy)

1/3 cup coconut oil, softened but not melted

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt, or more if you are using unsalted peanut butter

1 cup brown sugar (this could probably be reduced)

3 tablespoons almond milk

1 1/4 cups flour

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup vegan chocolate or other flavor chips (I used chocolate and white chocolate)

Cream together peanut butter and coconut oil. Add in salt, vanilla, sugar, and almond milk; mix until well combined. Add in other ingredients and stir until incorporated. Press into an 8 x 8 pan and bake at 350 for 20 minutes. If you don’t want them slightly gooey, leave them in longer, but they really are better all soft and gooey. Trust me on this one.

 

2 responses to “Peanut Butter Coconut Chocolate Chip Vegan Bars

  1. They really do seem to have the perfect texture! I have a drop of speculoos spread leftover, and now I’m thinking it might be just the thing to swap with the peanut butter here… Gotta try it!

    • Oooh! Speculoos – is that the Trader Joe’s cookie/Biscoff spread? I haven’t tried it yet. I was hoping it was vegan, and it sounds like it must be. I will get some on my next TJ’s trip.

Leave a Reply

