Oh My GOODNESS

 

 

My mom’s hot fudge sauce, made vegan, over homemade almond-milk ice cream…can I get a drool, please?

Peanut butter coconut chocolate chip bars…’nuff said, eh?

Honestly, I am just too sleepy to write a real post, but I CAN write  a thumbs-up post, because those are relatively easy. Part of last week’s hecticness was a trip to Boston, where I got to see family, buy ethically-sources running sneaks, and indulge in some take-out from one of my new favorite restaurants, Red Lentil in Watertown. Red Lentil is pretty new; I used to live in Watertown and it definitely wasn’t there 10 years ago. It is vegetarian but has a HUGE vegan selection, and a lot of things can be made vegan even if they are not listed as such on the menu. I really like their Ethiopian teff seitan; I’ve had it before, and enjoyed it again this time. We got a number of dishes to split, so I also tried the risotto (made vegan). It is not something I would have ordered on my own, but it was DELICIOUS! Creamy, a nice chewiness to the rice, lots of veggies mixed in…..delish!

One thing that is absolutely mandatory if you eat at Red Lentil is their gobi Manchurian. It is fusion Indian food. It is a fried cauliflower dish in a sort-of-spicy sauce. It is seriously the best thing ever. Newspaper reviews of Red Lentil always mention the Gobi Manchurian, and always in an awed manner. The chef of the restaurant published the recipe as part of a newspaper interview; I’ve made it once and it was fabulous, but not quite as good as the restaurant’s version. I think that my fault, though, because I did not use chick pea flour and instead used regular flour. I bought chick pea flour today, though, and so now I can make my own Gobi Manchurian!

Another necessity on a trip to Red Lentil is the desserts. This time I tried a cinnamony-molasses-y cake with an intensely-Earth Balance frosting. The cinnamon flavor was strong without being overwhelming; the cake was sweet and moist but not wet or overly sweet; and the super-rich frosting was a nice contrast to the spice of the cinnamon. I have got to re-create that cake somehow!

http://theredlentil.com/location-home

If you are ever in the Boston/Cambridge area, I HIGHLY recommend Red Lentil. It is just a T bus ride away from the red line, and well, well worth it.  Boston does not have a huge vegan scene, or at least it did not until recently, and this is really one of the best restaurants I’ve been to, ever. Score one for Boston!

 

Leave a Reply

