Grilled Eggplant Wraps with Spinach and Olive-Artichoke Heart Spread

I really should call these ‘derivative wraps’. I got the idea from browsing Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Veganomicon cookbook (a great resource, if you don’t already have it). She has a recipe for a sandwich based on the New Orleans’ Muffaletta. I’ve never had a muffaletta, never seen one, never talked to anyone who ate one. I have no idea what an authentic muffaletta is. Then, to make it even more derivative, I completely did not follow the recipe. I read it a few days ago and ended up making this without looking at it again. So, I guess it’s fair to say that this recipe is inspired by Isa’s recipe, which was in turn inspired by the New Orleans sandwich.

Please don’t judge this meal by my horrible photography. I would have taken more pictures, but we ate it too fast to get any more!

Regardless….this was surprisingly good. I think it’s going to make it into our regular meal rotation, at least for summer meals. It is fast, reasonably healthy, and SO tasty. The saltiness of the olives and artichoke hearts blends really well with the smoothness and bite of the eggplant, and the spinach has a strong enough flavor to complete with the olives and eggplant. There’s a lot of flavor, without a lot of ingredients or fuss. It came together really quickly, which is nice for weekday meals.

(serves 4)

fresh baby spinach, about 1/2 of a bag

1 large eggplant

olive oil, about 1-2 teaspoons

about 1/2 cup olives

about 3/4-1 cup artichoke hearts

1 clove garlic

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

tortillas or wraps (I used my standard homemade flax-flour tortillas; you could use regular tortillas, wraps, bread, rolls, etc.)

Peel the eggplant. Slice it really, really thinly. Rub a tiny bit of olive oil on each slice – a drop or so. Cook the eggplant on a stove-top grill for 5-10 minutes, or until it has those nice brown grill marks. It took two batches to cook on my grill.

Meanwhile, chop the olives and artichoke hearts finely (or use a Magic Bullet); add the garlic and mustard, and stir well.

Cook your tortillas, if you’re making them.

To assemble: Spread a tablespoon or two of the olive-artichoke heart spread in the middle of a tortilla; add a nice healthy layer of spinach, and top with a few slices of grilled eggplant.

Blog help question:

Whenever I click on my own blog, I notice that it lists TONS of posts and takes forever to scroll through. When I look at other people’s blogs, there’s just the most recent posts (maybe 3-4) on the home page. How do I change this? Does anyone know? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

