Vegan Cupcakes (that I didn’t have to make myself!)

Our sweet and smart intern surprised me today with 4 vegan cupcakes that she got at a bakery in Columbia called, appropriately, Cupcake. She told me a few weeks ago that she had seen vegan cupcakes there before; I was completely surprised and thrilled with today’s surprise treat!

There were 4 of the same flavor (I think they have at most one vegan offering a day, but for the south, that’s not too bad!). I’m excited to have any vegan dessert that is not something I had to make, so I think these tasted extra good just for that reason. The cake part was, I think, the standard vegan chocolate cake recipe that everyone uses and that is posted on everyone’s vegan blog and has been around forever – you know, the one that our parents/grandparents had during leaner times when eggs and milk were not available, and that uses vinegar and baking soda to replace the eggs – you totally know the recipe I’m talking about. It’s one my family has used forever, and it was our standard cake recipe even before the word ‘vegan’ was known to our family. I think I even have it memorized: 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 cup sugar, between 1/3-1/2 cup cocoa powder, salt, 1 teaspoon baking soda, vanilla, 1 cup cold water or cold coffee, 1/2 cup oil, 1 tablespoon vinegar. See? I knew you knew it. It is a GREAT recipe – tastes good, is easy, and is made with simple, standard ingredients. It kind of cracks me up, though, when people post this recipe or a close variation thereof (like, with 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup) and act as if they created some vegan genius. This recipe has been around forever, and will be around forever. It’s that good.

Anyways…..the cake was good; sweet and satisfying, but nothing extraordinary. The frosting was strawberry flavored and was delicious. It was thick and sweet, with some salt and a little bit of tartness from the strawberries.

The best part, though, was the big sugar sprinkles. I never cook with sprinkles, and every time I have them, I am reminded of what a treat they are. I love the crunchy texture, followed by melting……all so good! I really liked these because they were nice and big and had a really satisfying crunch. They reminded me of sprinkles you’d find in a Williams-Sonoma catalogue – high class, high quality. Eating this cupcake was an experience!

Anyways, if you are in the Columbia or Charleston area, check out Cupcake for its vegan cupcakes! And hooray for awesome interns who bring treats to their associates!

One response to “Vegan Cupcakes (that I didn’t have to make myself!)

Leave a Reply

